Political units

Bungoma County is divided into 12 Sub-Counties, 45 Wards and 236 Village Units (Annex 7). Map 2 shows Bungoma County administrative units.

Bungoma County by sub-counties and wards

Source: KNBS (2009), Population and Housing census.

Under the County Administrative structures: Mt Elgon sub-County (963.3 km2) is the largest in terms of size while Webuye East Sub-County (168.1 km2) is the smallest. All sub-counties have enormous potential in agriculture, trade and tourism.

Political units (Constituencies and Wards)

The County has nine (9) constituencies and fourty five (45) County Assembly Wards. Table 2 shows the Bungoma County political units.